State senators appointed to leadership positions

Three Hawaii Island state senators have been appointed to leadership positions for 2019.

The positions are:


• Sen. Kai Kahele, D-Hilo: majority floor leader.

• Sen. Dru Kanuha, D-Kona, Ka‘u: majority caucus leader.

• Sen. Lorraine Inouye, D-Hilo, Hamakua, Kohala, Waikoloa, Kona: majority whip.

The committee assignments for Hawaii Island senators are:

• Sen. Russell Ruderman, Puna, Ka‘u: Human Services (chair); Agriculture and Environment (vice chair); Commerce, Consumer Protection and Health.

• Kanuha: Housing (vice chair); Education; Government Operations; Ways and Means.


• Inouye: Transportation (chair); Government Operations (vice chair); Energy, Economic Development and Tourism; Ways and Means.

• Kahele: Water and Land (chair); Hawaiian Affairs (vice chair); Higher Education; Ways and Means.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


By participating in online discussions you acknowledge that you have agreed to the Star-Advertiser's TERMS OF SERVICE. An insightful discussion of ideas and viewpoints is encouraged, but comments must be civil and in good taste, with no personal attacks. If your comments are inappropriate, you may be banned from posting. To report comments that you believe do not follow our guidelines, email