Big Island Press Club awards scholarships to three students

The Big Island Press Club awarded scholarships totaling $3,000 to three students this year. The press club annually awards scholarships to students pursuing a higher education in journalism or a related field.

The recipients are:


• Lichen Forster, of Mountain View, was awarded the $1,000 Bill Arballo Scholarship. A sophomore geology major at the University of Hawaii at Hilo, Forster is editor-in-chief of the student newspaper, Ka Kalahea, and plans to be a science journalist. This is Forster’s second award.

Bill Arballo was a founding a member of Big Island Press Club in 1967 and its first president. A former United Press International reporter, he is honored through a scholarship funded by an annual donation of $1,000 from Bill’s daughter, Teresa Barth, and her husband, Bill. Arballo died in 2016.

• Lehia Coloma, of Kurtistown, received the $1,000 Hugh Clark Scholarship. A 2022 graduate of Kamehameha High School – Hawaii Campus, Coloma is a freshman at Grand Canyon University in Phoenix.

Hugh Clark was called a “newspaperman’s newspaperman.” He wrote about crime, politics, sports and volcanic eruptions for the Honolulu Advertiser and the Hawaii Tribune-Herald. He was a charter member of the Big Island Press Club. Clark died in 2015.

• Briana Harmon, of Waimea, received the Robert Miller/Yukino Fukabori Scholarship of $1,000. Harmon graduated from Hawaii Preparatory Academy this year and is a freshman at Davidson College in Davidson, North Carolina.

Robert Miller was a UPI reporter whose 1968 speech to BIPC inspired Ouida Hill, wife of state Sen. W.H. “Doc” Hill, to donate $1,000 to start the Miller Scholarship. Miller died in 2004.

Noteworthy for reporting “hard news” for the Hawaii Tribune-Herald as early as the 1930s when women reporters were generally on the society page, Fukabori, who later taught news writing at Hilo High School, funded a scholarship in 1993. She died in 1995.

The BIPC Scholarship committee for 2022 is: Michael Phillips, meteorologist and BIPC treasurer; Royelen Boykie, self-employed social media consultant and BIPC board member; and John Burnett, police and courts reporter for the Hawaii Tribune-Herald, BIPC president and three-time BIPC scholarship recipient.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


By participating in online discussions you acknowledge that you have agreed to the Star-Advertiser's TERMS OF SERVICE. An insightful discussion of ideas and viewpoints is encouraged, but comments must be civil and in good taste, with no personal attacks. If your comments are inappropriate, you may be banned from posting. To report comments that you believe do not follow our guidelines, email