Students named candidates in Presidential Scholars program

Local seniors were recently honored by the U.S. Department of Education.

Hilo High School’s Shwe Win and Waiakea High’s Gaayatri Godbole and Jade Ishimine were named among more than 4,500 candidates in the 2021 U.S. Presidential Scholars program. The candidates were selected from nearly 3.6 million students expected to graduate from U.S. high schools this year.


Scholars are selected on the basis of superior academic and artistic achievements, leadership qualities, strong character and involvement in community and school activities.

The program was established in 1964 by executive order of the president to recognize some of the nation’s most distinguished graduating seniors for their accomplishments in academic success, leadership and service to school and community.

A distinguished panel of educators will review these submissions and select approximately 600 semifinalists in early April.


The Commission on Presidential Scholars, a group of up to 32 eminent citizens appointed by the president, will select the finalists and the DOE will announce the scholars in May.

If circumstances permit, scholars will be invited to Washington, D.C., for several days in June to receive the Presidential Scholars Medallion during a ceremony and to participate in events and activities.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


By participating in online discussions you acknowledge that you have agreed to the Star-Advertiser's TERMS OF SERVICE. An insightful discussion of ideas and viewpoints is encouraged, but comments must be civil and in good taste, with no personal attacks. If your comments are inappropriate, you may be banned from posting. To report comments that you believe do not follow our guidelines, email