DLNR releases names of those arrested on Maunakea

The state Department of Land and Natural Resources on Tuesday released the names of 38 people it said were arrested July 17 for obstructing the Maunakea Access Road during protests of the Thirty Meter Telescope.

Those arrested are: Walter Ritte, Loretta Ritte, Abel Lui, Liko-o-Kalani Martin, Deborah Lee, Maxine Kahaulelio, Kelii Ioane, Raynette Robinson, Marie Alohalani Brown, Kaliko Lehua Kanaele, James Naniole, James Albertini, Richard L. Deleon, Renee Price, Pualani Kanakaole Kanahele, Daniel Li, Patricia Green, William K. Freitas, Tomas Belsky, Ana Kahoopii, Daycia-Dee Chun, Flora Hookano, Desmon Haumea, Linda Leilani Lindsey-Kaapuni, Edleen Peleiholani, Gene Burke, Luana Neff, Carmen Hulu Lindsey, Deena Oana-Hurwitz, Wilson Wong, Damian Trask, Mililani Trask, Mahea Kalima, Donna Leong, Haloley Reese, Sharol Awai, John Turalde and Alika Desha.

Ages and hometowns of arrestees were not provided, but the majority are considered to be kupuna, or elders.

DLNR said originally that 33 were arrested, then revised the number last week to 34. The department didn’t respond by press time Tuesday to a question about the increased number of names.

The charge is a misdemeanor and those arrested reportedly are to make appearances Sept. 20 in Hilo District Court.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


By participating in online discussions you acknowledge that you have agreed to the Star-Advertiser's TERMS OF SERVICE. An insightful discussion of ideas and viewpoints is encouraged, but comments must be civil and in good taste, with no personal attacks. If your comments are inappropriate, you may be banned from posting. To report comments that you believe do not follow our guidelines, email