BIIF tweaks football schedule, but everybody’s in

Some BIIF football teams made it easier than others, but they all made it – Department of Education mandate and all.

A couple of games were moved back, and one game was moved forward, but the larger point remains: all 11 teams on the island are primed to return after almost two years away from the field.

ADVERTISING


Hilo High and Hawaii Prep got a jump on things Saturday in Waimea, albeit in a controlled scrimmage that lasted a quarter, Vikings coach Chris Todd said, before the team practiced different scenarios and went to 7-on-7s.

The BIIF released a modified schedule Friday as openers for Honokaa, Kohala and Ka’u were pushed back, leaving just two games next weekend: Kamehameha faces Kealakehe in a nonleague game next Friday in Kailua-Kona, and, as was previously scheduled, Pahoa and Ka Makani play a Division II game in Waimea day later.

In a nonleague volleyball match Saturday in Keaau, Kamehameha beat Hawaii Prep 25-16, 25-10, 25-18 behind sophomore Maela Honma (11 kills) and junior Kilinoe Helm (10). The teams are scheduled to play again Friday in Waimea, though the regular season – which is split between East and West divisions – isn’t scheduled to start until Oct. 19.

BIIF football schedule

Friday

Kamehameha at Kealakehe, nonleague

Saturday

Pahoa at Hawaii Prep, 3 p.m.

Thursday, Oct. 21

Ka’u at Kamehameha

Friday, Oct. 22

Hilo at Konawaena

HPA at Honokaa

Saturday, Oct. 23

Keaau at Waiakea

Pahoa at Kohala

Friday, Oct. 29

Waiakea at Kealakehe

Honokaa at Kamehameha

Saturday, Oct. 30

Keaau at Konawaena

Kohala at Ka’u

Thursday, Nov. 4

Kohala at Honokaa

Friday, Nov. 5

Kealakehe at Keaau

Pahoa at Kamehameha

Saturday, Nov. 6

Ka’u at HPA

Waiakea at Hilo

Thursday, Nov. 11

Keaau at Kamehameha, nonleague

Friday, Nov. 12

Kealakehe at Hilo

Pahoa at Honokaa

Saturday, Nov. 13

Konawaena at Waiakea

HPA at Kohala

Friday, Nov. 19

Hilo at Keaau

Konawaena at Kealakehe

Saturday, Nov. 20

Honokaa at Ka’u, 11 a.m.

Kohala at Kamehameha

Friday, Nov. 26

Division I semifinals

Saturday, Nov. 27

Pahoa at Ka’u

Kamehameha at HPA

Friday, Dec. 3

Division I championship

Saturday, Dec. 4

Division II semifinals

ADVERTISING


Saturday, Dec. 11

Division II championship

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*

By participating in online discussions you acknowledge that you have agreed to the Star-Advertiser's TERMS OF SERVICE. An insightful discussion of ideas and viewpoints is encouraged, but comments must be civil and in good taste, with no personal attacks. If your comments are inappropriate, you may be banned from posting. To report comments that you believe do not follow our guidelines, email hawaiiwarriorworld@staradvertiser.com.