Fireworks permits available starting Dec. 26

Fireworks permits will be available for purchase starting Saturday, Dec. 26, for the upcoming New Year’s Eve celebration.

Each permit costs $25 and entitles the holder to purchase 5,000 individual firecrackers. Multiple permit purchases are authorized. Permit holders must be 18 years old or older and permits are non-transferable and non-refundable.


Permits are not required for the purchasing of novelties and paperless firecrackers.

Fireworks sales will begin on Dec. 26 and will end at midnight New Year’s Eve,

Setting off of permitted fireworks is legal only between 9 p.m. New Year’s Eve and 1 p.m. New Year’s Day.

Fireworks permits in East Hawaii will be sold at the following firecracker vendor outlets:

• KTA Super Stores Puainako in Hilo;

• J. Hara Store, 17-343 Volcano Hwy. in Kurtistown;

• B.J. Alan tents at 111 East Puainako St. and 325 Makaala St. in Hilo; and


• TNT Tent, 381 Makaala St. in Hilo.

Permits will also be available from the Fire Administration Office in the Hilo County Building, 25 Aupuni St., Suite 2501, between 8 a.m.-4 p.m. Dec. 28-31.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


By participating in online discussions you acknowledge that you have agreed to the Star-Advertiser's TERMS OF SERVICE. An insightful discussion of ideas and viewpoints is encouraged, but comments must be civil and in good taste, with no personal attacks. If your comments are inappropriate, you may be banned from posting. To report comments that you believe do not follow our guidelines, email