Wednesday | January 18, 2017
About Us | Contact | Subscribe

Tribune-Herald wins 8 awards

The Hawaii Tribune-Herald won eight awards for outstanding journalism during the 29th annual Pa‘i Awards held today in Honolulu.

The Hawaii Publishers Association presented the awards for work published in 2013. Mainland journalists judged the entries to ensure impartiality.

The competition was open to news media outlets statewide, including newspapers, magazines and websites. The awards were announced during a luncheon at Hilton Hawaiian Village.

The awards the Tribune-Herald won are: first place, Investigative Reporting; first place, Feature Photography; second place, Spot News Photography; second place, Special Section Excellence; second place, Excellence in Design; second place, Editorial Series; second place, Editorial Enterprise Reporting; second place, Spot News.

HPA also recognized retired Tribune-Herald publisher Ted Dixon and retired West Hawaii Today publisher Rick Asbach with its Hall of Fame Award.

West Hawaii Today, the Tribune-Herald’s sister paper, won the following awards: Second place, Excellence in Cover Design; first place; Excellence in Cover Design; second place, Investigative Reporting; first place, Editorial Enterprise Reporting; first place, Spot News.

Both newspapers are owned by Stephens Media.


Rules for posting comments