Friday | November 17, 2017
About Us | Contact | Subscribe

Students win awards at DECA competition

The Hilo High School DECA program claimed top honors at the Hawaii State DECA CTSO competition Feb. 19-21 at the Hawaii Convention Center in Honolulu. Hilo High had 14 students competing in six different categories that included Marketing Management, Retail Merchandising, Travel/Tourism, Sports and Entertainment, Quick Serve Management and Finance.

Hilo High entered the team of Matthew Pearring and Richard Kerr in the Financial Services competition: Their team awards: First place in Financial Services, in the top six finalists; Kerr won a medal for his role play as well as a second place medal for his test score, and Pearring also won a medal for his role play.

Hilo High entered the team of Katharine Hong and Kayla Abalos in the Sports and Entertainment event. Their team awards: Third place in Sports and Entertainment; top six finalists; Abalos also won a first-place medal for her test score.

Hilo High entered the team of Kristen Yagi and Nyadean Campbell in the Travel/Tourism event: Their team awards: Third place in Travel/Tourism; top six finalists.

Matthew Takemoto and Dylan Giardina each won a Marketing Management top-six finalist medal and a medal for their role play. Kevin Crutchfield won two Marketing Management role-play medals. Justin Scharf won a second-place test score medal in Marketing Management. Also competing for the Hilo team were Kolby Proctor, Ryan Bisel and Natalie Quinajon. Patrick Jenkins is the Hilo High School DECA Chapter adviser.

The three team pairs have qualified to compete internationally at the DECA International Career Development Conference in Anaheim, Calif., April 24-27.


Rules for posting comments